The foundation of COEUR DE LION
is especially valuable.

Carola Eckrodt’s passion for design began early, very early. Even as a teenager, the young designer experimented with a wide variety of materials and created earrings. First just for herself but that would soon change.
In 1987, together with her partner Nils Eckrodt, Carola Eckrodt founded a small company in Stuttgart, where friends and acquaintances made the first jewellery pieces to her designs.

1987: AVANTGARDE
1999: CLASSICS

Already in the founding year, Carola and Nils Eckrodt presented their first creations made from industrial parts at the Avantgarde in Munich. The Dusseldorf couturier Hanns Friedrichs, who became a style icon as designer for Joan Collins, bought the entire fledgling collection.
Around 10 years later, Carola Eckrodt succeeded in creating a true design classic, the GEO CUBE Collection, which in the meantime has been stocked by numerous museum shops - such as the renowned Bauhaus Museum in Weimar, the Smithsonian in Washington and the Royal Academy in London.

Colour makes
jewellery vibrant.

Carola Eckrodt harbours a preference for materials that demonstrate a high degree of versatility in terms of shape and colour. At the same time they must be especially enduring and not show signs of wear and tear. These include polaris resin, hand-finished two-tone glass, Swarovski crystals, real nappa leather or the ever-recurring synthetically coloured tiger’s eye.

Jewellery means
more than gold and silver.

Thanks to many years of experience and an accurate feel for even unusual colour contrasts, Carola Eckrodt time and again creates jewellery pieces that are simultaneously fresh and timeless.

Hands are tools
that cannot be bettered.

At COEUR DE LION, working by hand plays a significant role in all phases of manufacturing. From sticking, assembling and threading to surface-keying and polishing, our workshop boasts the perfect flair.

With impeccable
attention to detail.

It is clear to see that careful handwork at every step plays a crucial role in the jewellery from COEUR DE LION. For example here during assembly, polishing and inlaying.

Technology
that enchants women.

Drilling, rhodium-plating, alloying, anodising – the list of processing techniques used at COEUR DE LION is long. It includes numerous methods that we have helped to develop or have even initiated. For example, making diamond-polished anodised aluminium usable in the manufacturing of fashion jewellery – incidentally an innovation from COEUR DE LION.

To be continued...

After being named ‘Jewellery Brand of the Year 2014’ at the UK Watch & Jewellery Awards and winning the German Design Award Special 2016, COEUR DE LION has been given another prestigious prize: the GERMAN BRAND AWARD 2016. We are delighted to have received this commendation, which motivates us to keep giving our all in the years to come.

Der Grundstein von Coeur de Lion
ist ganz besonders wertvoll.

Carola Eckrodts Passion für Design begann früh, sehr früh. Schon als Teenager experimentierte die junge Designerin mit den unterschiedlichsten Materialien und verarbeitete sie zu Ohrschmuck. Zunächst nur für sich selbst, doch das sollte sich bald ändern.
1987 gründete Carola Eckrodt zusammen mit Ihrem Partner Nils Eckrodt COEUR DE LION – ein kleines Unternehmen in Stuttgart, in dem Freunde und Bekannte die ersten Schmuckstücke nach ihren Designs anfertigen.

1987: AVANTGARDE
1999: KLASSIKER

Bereits im Gründungsjahr stellen Carola und Nils Eckrodt ihre ersten Kreationen aus Industrieteilen auf der Avantgarde in München vor. Der Düsseldorfer Couturier Hanns Friedrichs, als Ausstatter von Joan Collins zur Stilikone geworden, kauft die komplette Erstlingskollektion.
Rund 10 Jahre später gelingt Carola Eckrodt mit der GEOCUBE Kollektion ein echter Design-Klassiker, der inzwischen auch von zahlreichen Museumshops geführt wird – wie dem renommierten Bauhaus-Museum in Weimar, dem Smithsonian in Washington und der Royal Academy in London.

Farbe macht
Schmuck erst lebendig.

Carola Eckrodt hegt eine Vorliebe für Materialien, die in punkto Form und Farbe eine hohe Gestaltbarkeit aufweisen. Gleichzeitig müssen sie besonders langlebig sein und dürfen kaum Abnutzungserscheinungen aufweisen. Wie Polaris, handgefertigtes Zweitonglas, Swarovksi Kristalle, echtes Nappaleder oder das immer wiederkehrende synthetische durchgefärbte Tigerauge.

Schmuck bedeutet
mehr als Gold und Silber.

Dank jahrelanger Erfahrung und einem sicheren Gespür auch für ungewöhnliche Farbkontraste, schafft Carola Eckrodt immer wieder Schmuckstücke, die zugleich frisch und zeitlos wirken.

Hände sind Werkzeuge,
die man nicht verbessern kann.

In allen Phasen der Herstellung spielt bei COEUR DE LION Handarbeit eine entscheidende Rolle. Vom Kleben und Montieren über das Aufziehen bis hin zum Aufrauhen und Versäubern von Oberflächen kommt es in unseren Ateliers auf das richtige Fingerspitzengefühl an.

Mit Liebe
zum Detail des Details.

Man merkt es dem Schmuck von COEUR DE LION an, dass liebevolle Handarbeit bei jedem Arbeitsschritt eine entscheidende Rolle spielt. Wie hier beim Montieren, Polieren und Einlegen.

Technik
die Frauen begeistert.

Bohren, Rhodinieren, Legieren, Eloxieren – die Liste der Verarbeitungstechniken, die bei COEUR DE LION zum Einsatz kommen, ist lang. Darunter sind zahlreiche Methoden, die wir mitentwickelt oder sogar angestoßen haben. Zum Beispiel diamantgeschliffenes eloxiertes Aluminium zur Herstellung von Modeschmuck verwendbar zu machen – übrigens eine Innovation von COEUR DE LION.

Fortsetzung folgt...

Nach dem Titel "Schmuckmarke des Jahres 2014" bei den UK Watch & Jewellery-Awards und dem German Design Award Special 2016 gewinnt COEUR DE LION mit dem GERMAN BRAND AWARD 2016 einen weiteren prestigeträchtigen Preis. Wir freuen uns und nehmen diese Auszeichnung als Ansporn, auch in den kommenden Jahren unser Bestes zu geben.